kansas association of teachers of science

  • Home
  • News
  • KSU Sigma Xi Seeks Nominations for Secondary Science Teacher Award

KSU Sigma Xi Seeks Nominations for Secondary Science Teacher Award

15 Feb 2017 4:53 PM | Anonymous

The KSU chapter of Sigma Xi (a scientific research society and publisher of American Scientist)  has for a number of years given an annual award to an outstanding secondary science teacher.  One of the missions of Sigma Xi is supporting education, and we feel that recognizing excellence in secondary science teaching in our state is an important expression of this mission.

Over that last several years we have received a large number of excellent candidates and it is a challenge each year to select only one or two awardees.  

The award winners in the last few years were:

2016 Mr. Adam Robb - Moundridge High School, Moundridge

2015 Ms. Josephine Reno - Central Middle School, Kansas City
2015 Mr. Gabriel Dalton - Highland Park Highschool

2014 Ms. Miranda Forgey - Hope Street Academy, Topeka

2014 Mr. Jeremy Mohn -  Blue Valley Northwest High School

2013 Mr. Jeff McFarlane - JC Harmon High School

2012 Ms. Susan Arnold - Maize High School
2011 Ms. Brenda Bott - Shawnee Mission West High School
2011 Mr. Dan Whisler - Sterling High School
2010 Ms. Janice Crowley - Wichita Collegiate High School
2009 Ms. Carrie Newdigger - Macksville High School
2008  Ms. Lyric Cairns - Salina South High School
2007 Mr. James Enneking - Saint Thomas Aquinas High School
2007 Ms. Laurie Cleavinger - McLouth High School
2006 Mr. Duke Harman - Eisenhower Middle School, Manhattan
2005 Ms. Jan Cyr - Blue Valley North High School
Nominations for the award (by administrators, principles, or other teachers) should be sent to me (e-mail or regular mail) by March 20.  Please feel free to renominate outstanding teachers who were not selected for awards in previous years.  The simple nomination form is included below.  

Thank you for your support of quality science teaching in Kansas!

Keith Miller
Chair: Science Educator Award Committee
KSU Chapter Sigma Xi




Candidate’s Name ______________________________________________________________

Candidate’s School _____________________________________________________________

School Address ________________________________________________________________

School Telephone Number _______________________________________________________
Candidate’s Home Address _______________________________________________________________

Candidate’s Home Telephone _____________________________________________________
Candidate’s Teaching Specialty  ___________________________________________________
Candidate’s Length of Teaching Service _____________________________________________
Candidate’s Degrees (Degrees, Years, Colleges):



Nominator’s statement of achievement on behalf of the candidate:
 (Attach statement to this form.)
Return to:  Dr. Keith B. Miller, Committee Chair, Dept. of Geology, 108 Thompson Hall, Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS 66506  by March 20, 2017, or e-mail to keithbmill@gmail.com

KATS email:   kats.org1967@gmail.com

Payments and invoices should be sent to:

KATS Treasurer

P.O. Box 780899

Wichita KS 67278

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software